top of page
  • Writer's pictureSamantha Wright

Editing As We Write


The silent killer of most WIPs worldwide, the absolute worst thing while drafting the first?

The Woes!


You painstaking cobble together words- perhaps a full scene but you never far before that familiar itch rears its ugly head. You reread what you’ve typed and well, let’s change this term- the whole sentence is crap- oops a typo! And by the time you reach the end you’re drained, creatively jammed, discouraged by your meager attempt to compose anything worth a damn. Are you scrolling through Facebook or Twitter already?

 I am!


I bring to you my number one issue and it’s something many, many writers grapple with. So, why do we feel the intense desire to go over everything? Over and over just to tweak repeatedly? Why can’t we trust we may have written less than amazing words? I mean, I expect the initial draft to be word vomit molded and formed later on, right? If you know the reason we torment ourselves, drop me an opinion so I can stop wracking my brain about it and actually finish a novel.


In the meantime, I have three proposals.


Proposal #1


We’re perfectionist and perhaps without strong confidence in our capability as a writer. We aim to the statures of published authors, writers who’ve taken years to hone that degree of experience. Yet, we are prepared to submit that expectation upon ourselves because we love the narrative “I’m not talented enough.” We respect that narrative even when we don’t realize it. As humans competing with others, we measure ourselves. And say we don’t meet that standard perfectly, we find fault in ourselves. We conceive a belief of failure to explain it away.

We have to work harder but human logic doesn’t consistently make sense. While obsessing over every word we write we’re carrying out the negative concept- never allowing ourselves to honor or take credit when its due. Instead, “I’m still not good enough.”  Consideration how long it took these authors to achieve their present situation. There’s no instant gratification in creating. Natural talent isn’t sufficient, it takes work.


Proposal # 2


Self-sabotage is perhaps another reason we “hinder progress.” Do we feel capable of accomplishing the process of organizing a novel, writing it, and executing what comes after? It sounds like a ton of effort and we might not secure a traditional publisher, ever! Sure, self-publishing is an option, but that comes with a whole new bag of expectations. Either approach, publishing a novel is a tedious project. Are we confident in our competence to meet that target? Do we have doubts? Is it so scary to put forth the effort and never publish?


Proposal # 3


Lack of discipline. I believe I fit into this theory and theory # 1. Our goals pertaining to writing will determine how disciplined we need to be. Is writing a hobby, merely sharing it with a loose goal of publishing someday? Maybe it’s fun with no intention of selling our craft? Or are we goal-oriented of writing and publishing at least one book a year? Imagine the difference each goal would have on our discipline? Editing as we write could be a manifestation of being too lenient. Have we set realistic goals to meet daily or even weekly? If so, are we reaching those goals, are they realistic to our own productivity? Are we setting them far too high or way too low? Are we being consistent?


I want to leave you with some advice


Practice what you preach comes to mind as I write this last bit because I edit as I write. So, why am I offering any advice when I haven’t taken my own? See, I hold myself to harsh light, I must write smoothly. Avoid all passive voice. Show, don’t tell, etc. Sometimes all the rules stifle my creativity and focus, I mindlessly scroll through Facebook when I meant to be writing. Here’s the kicker, I have some ideas. I’ve thought long and heard about how to break this habit but putting them into practice is the tough part.


I’d like to inspire you, play along, and do a little homework with me. I invite you to . . .


1. Speak kindly to yourself and stop comparing.


Allow yourself to accept your writing ability as it is at the moment. You’re a better writer today than you were when you first began. Is that not worth mentioning? Take the compliments with pride! Be aware of your accomplishments (No matter how small) and address them, share them! We don’t compare Nora Roberts to Stephen King, do we? There’s a reason for that! They’re not comparable and neither are you to anyone else. So, stop that. Instead of focusing on what you feel needs work eagle-eye the great things you’ve written/done. Maybe it’s not in the writing at all - maybe you sat down and wrote for thirty minutes straight without checking your messages? Give yourself recognition!


2. Don’t look at the big picture.


You're more than likely psyching yourself out! Instead, chop this huge project up into tiny bite-sized bits. Focus on individual steps in this dream of author-hood. Don’t look too far ahead. Keep your head down and just go!


3. Treat writing as a job, not a hobby.


Carve time out of your day/week to write. Set realistic goals and reward yourself for meeting them! Create positive vibes around your writing (and life.) Don’t be too hard on yourself if you don’t meet a goal. Assess and reassess often to make sure they stay within the realm of possibility. Our circumstances change often, don’t be afraid to change up your expectations.


Of course, some writers are very productive but also edit as they write. There's no right or wrong way to create and it's up to us as individuals to spot our weaknesses and play up our strengths. Be sure to like this post if you found it helpful and share with anyone you think might find it beneficial. What do you think, did I touch on some truths for you personally?

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page